He Doesn’t Understand Political Donations

“So far, the donations have been slow. The support from the ordinary citizens have also been slow – which is typical of Singaporeans – to wait for the last minute. It is hard for me to plan my activities when the funding is not clear.

“I can meet the expenses on my own, but I want the people to have the chance to contribute financially to the campaign as well. I do not wish to shoulder this arduous task and journey on my own, with the help of a few supporters.” – Tan Kin Lian

Based on the above, I’d have to say Mr Tan doesn’t understand political donations.

About politicalwritings

Someone who sees beyond PAP and "opposition" in Singapore politics. To understand more please see the Top 10 link below.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He Doesn’t Understand Political Donations

  1. Tan Kin Lian says:

    Dear author of this blog,
    Don’t worry about my fund raising. I have my own strategy. And I want to pass my message to the people of Singapore. I hope that you will write something positive that will get Singaporeans to contribute to a cause that they believe in.

    • Thanks for comments. This post is not about your fundraising capability or likelihood of success. It’s about your understanding of fundraising.

      An election is not a “burden” and people do not donate to a candidate to “share” his burden.

      People donate and volunteer because they believe in a cause.

      The overseas Chinese donated to Sun Yat Sen because they believed in his cause.

      I think the pertinent question is not whether you have enough $$ to fund your campaign, or whether you are burdened.

      It’s whether people believe in your cause.

Leave a Reply

